Music Directors

Elizabeth Gott
Beginning Band and Concert Band

Chase Ramsey
Symphonic Band
Holding both Bachelor of Music Education and Bachelor of Music Performance degrees from Tennessee Technological University, Chase Ramsey is the Director of the Symphonic Band with Knoxville Christian Youth Bands. Concurrent with his appointment with KCYB, he was recently appointed as the Director of Bands at Knox Central High School where he teaches the Concert Ensembles, Marching Band, Leadership, and History of Rock and Roll. Mr. Ramsey is a member of East Tennessee Band and Orchestra Association. Other professional affiliations include NAfME, Kappa Kappa Psi, and Pi Kappa Lambda. He regularly performs with the Southern Stars Symphonic Brass Band and Tennessee Wind Symphony, giving concerts at both the Great American Brass Band Festival as well as Carnegie Hall. For the past three years Mr. Ramsey has served as the Corps Manager for Music City Drum and Bugle Corps in Nashville, TN, where he was Drum Major in 2011 and 2012

Joe Jordan
Jazz Band
Joseph Jordan has been performing, educating, recording, and arranging in the Tennessee area for the past 10 years. At MTSU he performed in several bands, jazz, and chamber ensembles playing on tours as far away as China. He was a semifinalist in the National Trumpet Competition in 2010. As a certified music educator, Mr. Jordan graduated Magna Cum Laude in 2010 from Middle Tennessee State University receiving an award as an "Outstanding Music Educator" from the liberal arts department for his work with local schools in various capacities as well as his performances in the area. He has recorded with several gospel and pop artists in Nashville, including Benita Washington and Michael Hicks for Vergil Stratford. Upon moving to the Knoxville area in 2010, he has worked on a number of local projects including the Black Lillies, the Black Cadillacs, the Dirty Guv’nahs, Devan Jones and the Uptown Stomp, the Knoxville Jazz Orchestra, Clarance Brown Theater productions, and Vance Thompson's Five plus Six. He holds a master’s degree at the University of Tennessee in Jazz performance, where he served in various ensembles and capacities. At Thackston Private School, he taught private lessons, as well as various after-school programs for underprivileged youth in the Knoxville area. His trumpet students have received numerous scholarships to universities in Tennessee. Mr. Jordan is a Tri-M scholar, Phi Kappa Lambda, and Alpha Phi Alpha honors society member. He resides in Fountain City with his wife Claire, their son Oliver, and daughter Josephine.